Royal  Society of Miniature Painters,
Sculptors and Gravers
Patron HRH The Prince of Wales KG KT GCB OM

Home       Members       Gallery       Exhibitions      Society News      Awards     Links

Artwork Submissions     Contacts    History    Glossary    The Diploma Collection


Gold Memorial Bowl Award 2015
Suzi by Ewa Buksa

The Royal Society of Miniature Painters, Sculptors and Gravers was founded in 1896 by Alyn Williams who was the first President, a position he occupied until 1898, and then again from 1908 until 1941. The Society's inaugural Exhibition, held in 1896 in the Modern Gallery, was the first to be devoted exclusively to contemporary miniatures and was an immediate success. King Edward VII granted the Royal Charter in 1905. In 1926 the RMS extended its welcome to other forms of miniature art. Recognition of this wider scope was officially confirmed when Sculptors and Gravers were added to its name by Royal Command of King George V.

The Society's Aims are to Esteem, Protect and Practise the traditional 16th Century art of miniature painting emphasizing the infinite patience needed for its fine techniques.

President Rosalind Pierson PRMS CFA(Oxon) PPHS MAA MASF

2015 Exhibition continues online

Have you ever considered painting miniatures?
Please follow this link for helpful hints and tips for getting started...

Website designed by Claire Hucker BA (Hons)         Registered Charity 291389         All images protected by copyright